The Seyssel AOP covers the three villages of Seyssel Ain, Seyssel Haute-Savoie and Corbonod. This makes it one of the smallest AOPs in France, but also one of the oldest, as it has been in existence since 1942.

The vines grow on both banks of the Rhone, at altitudes ranging from 200m to 400m.

Wine growing in the region was first recorded in the 10th century. As with many French regions in the period, monks founded the first monasteries and abbeys, where they developed the practice of growing wine. In the Seyssel region, the monks had a monastery known as La Chartreuse d’Arvière, on the side of the mountain known as "Le Grand Colombier" in the village of Lochieu. They would come down into the Corbonod Valley to grow grapes, primarily the Altesse variety. Altesse is a variety that is believed to have been introduced from Cyprus in the fourteenth century by Anne de Lusignan, daughter of the King of Cyprus, who married one of the Dukes of Savoy. The Duke is believed to have given the grape variety to the monks for them to grow it in the Seyssel Valley. They also had a cellar at Eilloux where they fermented their wines, and nowadays, this very building serves as our tasting cellar.

59.jpg60.jpg

Currently, 90 hectares of wine benefit from a mild climate that helps them to grow, planted in glacial, alluvial slopes or wet clay and limestone soil.

Both still and sparkling wines are produced at the vineyard, with two original, white grape varieties that are specific to the terroir: Altesse (also known as Roussette de Seyssel, as it was formerly known) and the typically local Molette variety. Between them, these two varieties represent 90% of the estate's wine production.

Le territoire de l’Aop Seyssel s’étend sur 3 communes ; Seyssel Ain, Seyssel Haute-Savoie et Corbonod. C’est une des plus petites Aop de France mais aussi l’une des plus anciennes car reconnue depuis 1942.

Les vignes s’étendent sur les deux rives du Rhône, situées entre 200 et 400m d’altitude.

C’est au 10e siècle que les premiers écrits mentionnent la vigne dans la région. Comme dans beaucoup de régions françaises à cette époque, les moines établissaient les premiers monastères ou abbaye et y développaient la vigne. Dans le pays seysselan, les moines possédaient un monastère appelé La Chartreuse d’Arvière, situé dans la combe du massif du grand colombier sur la commune de Lochieu. Ils descendirent dans la vallée de Corbonod pour cultiver la vigne et principalement le cépage Altesse. Ce dernier est un cépage qui aurait été rapporté de l’ile de Chypre au XIVe siècle par Anne de Lusignan, fille du Roi de Chypre, qui épousa un duc de Savoie. Le duc aurait confié ce cépage aux moines afin qu’ils le développèrent sur la vallée Seysselane. A Eilloux, ils y possédaient un cellier dans lequel ils vinifiaient leurs vins, qui de nos jours n’est autre que notre caveau de dégustation.

59.jpg60.jpg

Actuellement, 90hectares de vignes profitent d’un climat plutôt favorable à leur développement, poussant sur des pentes d’alluvions glaciaires ou sur des molasses argilo-calcaires.

Sur ce vignoble est vignoble est produit des vins tranquilles mais également des vins mousseux principalement par deux cépages blancs originaux et spécifiques à ce terroir ; L’Altesse (ou la Roussette de Seyssel comme appelé anciennement) et la Molette (typiquement local). A eux deux, ces cépages représentent 90% du volume vinifié sur le domaine.